Members of the orchestra wishing to publicise an event in which they are taking part should give a note to me, Mike Winterburn, at a rehearsal or send an email to


Orchestra members' other musical events


From Anthea Fry

My summer recital at St John's Church, Spencer Hill, Wimbledon is coming up on Friday 28th July at 1 pm. The main work is Beethoven's 'Appassionata' Sonata. The programme includes his Variations WoO 76 and the Sonata in G minor by Clementi. If you are not already away on summer holidays by then it would be lovely to see some of you there. Coffee and homemade cakes are served before the concert.





Music in New Malden


Series 8

2015 – 2016


3 o’clock

2nd Sunday in the month

New Malden Methodist Church

High Street KT3 4BY

an hour of music followed by tea and cake



October 9th

Michal Rogalski Ob, Katarzyna Kowalik Hpd, Kate Conway Vc

French Splendour & Italian virtuosity in Baroque music

Works by Vivaldi, Coupin, Sammartini and Marais


November 6th

Iria Perestreslo Sop, Isabel Calado Hpd

Day of Portugal – Music from C18 and C19

Works by Baptista, Silva, Mesquita and Moreira



January 15th (N.B. 3r Sunday)

The Harmonie Choir and Orchestra

Choral Music by Joseph Haydn

Including Kleine Orgel Messe and Te Deum No 2 in C


February 12th

John Paul Ekins piano

A recital using the Blüthner grand


March 12th

Ensemble F2

Jane Booth Cl, Anneke Scott Hn, Steven Devine Pno

Chamber works by Donald Francis Tovey


May 14th

Guildhall School Cantata Project

Directed by James Johnstone


June 11th

The Musical Baron:

Piano Music from the Salons of Gottfried van Swieten

Sonatas and Fugues for solo keyboard by Bach, Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven,

played on a copy of a Viennese fortepiano from the 1790s by John Irving.





Saturday 25 November 2017

Shea Lolin, conductor

St John's Waterloo
Waterloo Road, SE1 8TY

at 7.30 pm


The Bloomsbury Woodwind Ensemble pays tribute to the buzzing capital of the Czech Republic, Prague. Works by Mozart, Dvořák, Smetana and Krommer will be contrasted by Adam Gorb’s suite in homage to the ‘verve and vigour’ of the city. Martinů paints a moving picture of a massacre of Lidiče, just a few miles north-west of the city. The journey ends with the world premiere of a new work for woodwind orchestra by Philip Sparke.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Don Giovanni — overture

Antonín Dvořák Prague Waltzes

Adam Gorb Bohemian Revelry

Bedřich Smetana Má Vlast — Vltava

Franz Krommer Partita in F major, op.57

Bohuslav Martinů Memorial to Lidiče

Philip Sparke  New Work (Title TBC)

Visit the website at






 making music logo







©Kingston Third Age Orchestra - Reg. charity no. 1140445

Vacancies for strings

There are currently vacancies for violins and violas. 

If you are interested or know of someone else who might be interested please look at our Join us page.



Next concert

Spring Concert


3.0 p.m.

Sunday 18 March 2018

St Andrews Church

Surbiton KT6 4DS



Tancredi Overture



Horn Concerto No 3
in E flat



Symphony No 4